The DAISY Award for Registered Nurses

The DAISY Award is an international program that rewards and celebrates the extraordinary clinical skill and compassionate care given by nurses every day. St. John Medical Center is proud to be a DAISY Award Hospital partner, recognizing one of our nurses with this special honor every month.


The DAISY Award for Registered Nurses

The DAISY Foundation was established in 2000 by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died at age 33 of complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP). DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. When their son Patrick was ill, the Barnes family was awed by the skill, care, and compassion of his nurses. They created The DAISY Award For Extraordinary Nurses in 2001 to say thank you to nurses.

A DAISY Award recipient is recognized during a ceremony and receives a framed certificate, a DAISY Award signature lapel pin and a hand-carved stone sculpture entitled A Healer’s Touch. Additionally, the unit or department of the recipient will receive Cinnabon’s cinnamon rolls - a favorite of Patrick Barnes during his illness.

Who is eligible for the DAISY Award?

DAISY Award recipients are registered nurses who exemplify the nursing values: extraordinary compassion, courage and integrity, in every situation. These individuals consistently demonstrate excellence in the delivery of patient care and promotion of their professional nursing practice.

How to Nominate an Extraordinary Nurse

Patients, visitors, nurses, physicians or employees may nominate a deserving nurse by filling out this form and mailing to:

St. John Medical Center 
Nursing Administration
1923 S. Utica Ave.
Tulsa, OK 74104

If you have any questions, please contact Nursing Administration at 918-744-2969.

Olivia Hawkins Honored with International DAISY Award for Nursing Excellence

Olivia Hawkins, RN was honored January 30 by St. John Medical Center as the first recipient of the DAISY Award for nursing excellence. During the awards presentation, Olivia was recognized for her extraordinary care of a NICU patient and family.

2017 DAISY Award Honorees

  • Jeffery Lopez - January
  • Lisa Campbell - February
  • Michaela McKeehan - March
  • Pangaa Bunniya - April
  • Donna Mosier - May
  • Hannah Swift - June
  • Katlynn Hannah - July
  • Joshua Crittenden - August
  • Kip Moseley - September
  • Caroline McKinley - October
  • Rene´ Andrews - November
  • Jennifer Ottaviani - December

2016 DAISY Award Honorees

  • Jared Suji - January
  • Brittany White - February 
  • Olga Regus - March
  • Teresa Bourne - April
  • Ian Bishop - May
  • Nichole Davis - June
  • Libby Allen - July
  • Edwin Jeffries - August
  • Jessica Darrow - September
  • Carissa Collins - October
  • Iris Dennis - November
  • Martha Jennings - December

2015 DAISY Award Honorees

  • Olivia Hawkins - January
  • Sarah Cook - February 
  • Bradyn Ledford - March
  • Susan Remington - April
  • Regina Kizer - May
  • Karen Ritchie - June
  • Sandy Bruce - July
  • Kathy Caruthers - August
  • Kenna Robinson - September
  • Kirsty Nickelson - October
  • Kip Mosely - November
  • LaDonna Pokorny - December